The IBSL was first established in 1964 in the name of Bankers' Training Institute (Ceylon) by the Central Bank of Sri Lanka and re-incorporated in 1979 by an Act of Parliament, Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka (Incorporation) Act No. 26 of 1979. The IBSL, as a professional body discharges four primary mandates according to the act.

1) To provide instruction and training for employees of banking institutions and employees of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka in the study of the theory and practice of banking and of related subjects and for such purpose to provide all facilities including lectures, discussions and library facilities;

2) To conduct examinations and to issue certificates to those who are successful in such examinations;

3) To facilitate and encourage discussions on matters of interest to bankers; and

4) To take such measures as may be desirable to further the interest of banking.

The IBSL also received the approval of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka to include the word "Bankers, Banking and Finance" in corporate names of the IBSL.

Governing Board

The IBSL is managed by a Governing Board of 12 high ranking banking sector professionals consisting of two members from the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (A Deputy Governor as Chairman and an Assistant Governor as Vice Chairman), two from Bank of Ceylon (General Manager and Deputy General Manager), two from People's Bank (CEO/General Manager and a Deputy General Manager), three from other banks and three from Fellows and Associates of the IBSL.

As at 01 March 2019;


Mr. H A Karunaratne
Deputy Governor
Central Bank of Sri Lanka

Vice Chairperson

Mrs. T M J Y P Fernando
Assistant Governor
Central Bank of Sri Lanka
Board Member Alternate
Mr. K B S Bandara
General Manager / CEO
Bank of Ceylon
Mr. K E D Sumanasiri
Deputy General Manager (Human Resource)
Bank of Ceylon
Mr. N Vasantha Kumar
CEO / General Manager
People’s Bank
Mr. S D N Perera
General Manager / CEO
National Savings Bank
Mr. J K Gamanayake
Senior Deputy General Manager
National Savings Bank
Mr. Kapila Ariyaratne
Director / CEO
Seylan Bank PLC
Ms. Champika Dodanwela
Chief Financial Officer
Seylan Bank PLC
Mr. Nanda Fernando
Managing Director
Sampath Bank PLC
Mr. Aruna Jayasekera
Group Chief Human Resources Officer
Sampath Bank PLC
Mr. K B Rajapakse
Senior Deputy General Manager (Retail Banking)
People’s Bank
Mrs. Chandani Werapitiya
Senior Deputy General Manager
(Strategic Planning, Performance Management & Research)
People’s Bank
Mr. C Amarasinghe
Deputy General Manager
(Sales and Channel Management)
Bank of Ceylon
Members Elected by the Associates/Fellows of the Institute
Mr. S Wanniarachchi
Deputy General Manager (Recoveries)
People’s Bank
Mr. W Ranjith
Assistant General Manager (North Central Province)
Bank of Ceylon
Mr. A S K Gangabadage
Chief Manager
People’s Bank

Senior Management

Director General

Mr. C P A Karunatilake
+94 11 2425730, +94 11 2425760
Director Examinations

Mrs. Lakmini Siriwardena
+94 11 2425745, +94 77 3746590
Director Finance

Mrs. R J Pakianathan
+94 11 2425771, +94 76 6536698
Director College of Banking & Finance

Mrs. Buddhika Godakanda
+94 11 2425733, +94 77 3670051
Director Member Relations

Mrs. V S Jayasuriya
+94 11 2425766, +94 76 6536699
Director Facilities Management

Eng. K L L Fernando
+94 11 2425755, +94 77 7307428
Director Administration and HR

Mr. G A J C Reny
+94 11 2425744
Director Information Technology Operations

Mr. C B Pathberiya
+94 11 2425740